Perspective

A woman I met today, a woman dressed in a mini skirt and flashy orange sweater, a woman too skinny to be comforting to anybody’s baby-child, a woman whose face and body looked, to me, like 20 miles of bad road, a woman trained to sell high-end houses and to prey upon the vanities of those who find themselves to be just terribly important, a woman appropriated to be the take-over trustee of an abandoned church building, told me today that I’m not old.

She is possibly 5 or 10 years younger than me. And yes, I admit, I probably do look younger than the image in her mirror.

But I am old. Trust me on this.

I dyed my hair last Saturday. (To get rid of the pole-cat look that a stripe of white down the side of my otherwise-brown head had bequeathed upon me these past few years, since Scooter died.)

I artfully applied some L’Oriel old-lady make-up before I left for work this morning. If you don’t move in too close, my skin looks radiant and flawless.

I am trying to “pass” for a woman in her 40′s. Only because I need to find myself a new job. And nobody wants to hire wonderfully skillful me, if they can see that I am 60 years old.

So it’s all smoke and mirrors, kids!

I can do wonderful things as a prayerful employee. I’ve got skills that God was developing in me when the 20-somethings, 30-somethings, 40-something’s, and even 50-somethings were still babes-in-arms.

I guess it’s good that I’ve always looked way younger than my years. With some extra help from the science of L’Oriel, I guess maybe I can even almost fool the youthful hiring managers out there. That’s my plan, anyway. But the plan sucks!

Sigh. We do what we gotta do to survive, don’t we?

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Perspective

  1. I know what you mean…they only want young people, fresh out of college so they can train them to be monkeys. I’ve been trying to find a ‘decent’ job for years, and no one wants an old lady, for sure, and I’m only … well, I’m celebrating the twentieth anniversary of my 30th birthday this year! lol

    • Rani Kaye says:

      Holy cow, girlfriend! You really ARE experienced! And I do believe that prolly NObody is bright enuff to want to profit from your experience. Their loss.

      I expect that prolly I won’t find a new job, either, and that my hubby & me will need to make some adjustments to further down-size our already-simple lifestyle.

    • Rani Kaye says:

      I am glad that the young ones are getting hired, don’t get me wrong – it’s just that I do good stuff – and I need employment to survive, too!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. J9 says:

    Good luck, sweetie! I hope the road to gainful employment is short.

Leave a Reply

