More on Albert and Jay

Here’s Albert and Jay in 1901, with their sisters.  The oldest sister is my great-grandma.

Here’s another of their military photos:

And here’s their daddy’s (and my great-great grandpa’s) military headstone.  My grandpa Charles served in the Civil War.

For those of you who do genealogy research, please appreciate the difficulty of researching the last name of White!  As they say about Pokemon, “Gotta catch ’em all!”

I have, in fact, collected data on nearly every White family in the counties and states where my own ancestors lived in the 17 & 18 hundreds.

 

This entry was posted in Genealogy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More on Albert and Jay

  1. J9 says:

    I feel your pain. My last name is McCarthy, which doesn’t seem too common, but in fact it’s the most common Mc name in the U.S. It might as well be Smith or Jones…or White! And then add to that the Williams and Charles’s and Georges, the most common of given names, AND everyone seems to be named after a grandparent or deceased sibling! I almost wish I had given my own kids unusual names to make it easy for our distant descendants to find us. I had to put my research on hold: It made my eyes cross and my brain turn to much. *L*

    I just love your pictures. I can’t wait to read more about your family history.

  2. J9 says:

    That should say, “…brain turn to mush,” not “much.” I blame the keyboard.

    • Rani Kaye says:

      McCarthy is a challenge too, no doubt. I even have a McCarthy in my tree (by marriage, not my direct line) … and I’ll bet you’ll find at least one White in your tree if you look hard enough LOL. Thanks for commenting, Janine — I love your daily views! I’ve thought about jumping in and doing that, too, and maybe someday I will. 🙂

  3. dayphoto says:

    Oh, I do understand…add in Thomas, Brown and Doyle. The challenge is huge. And then why do people all name their sons the same…do you know how many John Doyle exist in 1810 Ohio?

    • Rani Kaye says:

      Oh dear – My people passed through Ohio, but didn’t settle there (to my knowledge) – they came straight to the Michigan Territory, which was apparently akin to the wild west in those early days, so at least there weren’t all that many Whites in Michigan until about 1840. My difficulty is finding their parents back East! We even have a DNA match to some Whites who still live in Massachusetts, but cannot find the missing link in either tree 😦

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    A photo from 1913 is precious!

    • Rani Kaye says:

      Thanks for commenting! I can’t see which photo you commented on right now because I’m on my iPhone, not my computer. But I’ll check back later today when I can fire up the laptop 🙂 Rani

Leave a Reply

